Image of the Chakra symbols

Yoga Postures to Balance the Chakras

June 19, 2019

Yoga Postures to Balance the Chakras

Yoga has a huge impact on our energetic body. Within the energetic body are dense areas of energy called chakras. Chakras help to channel energy or prana around the body. When energy flows freely we usually experience good health and a positive outlook.

Yoga works to balance our energy flows (also known as vayus), it helps keep the chakras clear and resonating at the right frequency. Imbalances in the energetic body could reveal themselves in many different ways, for instance an illness, injury, insomnia, anxiety or a restless mind and the list continues.

There are seven main chakras, different yoga postures stimulate and balance each chakra helping to keep energy flowing freely.

Below is a list of the seven main chakras (that are positioned between the base of the spine and the crown of the head) and a selection of yoga postures to help balance each one.

Please note I will go into more detail about each individual Chakra in other articles. Below is a brief introduction.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara) is located at the base of the spine; it is associated with the legs, bowel movement, security, survival and trust.

Baddha konasana (bound angle pose), dandasana (the staff) and mula bandha (the root lock) can be used to balance this chakra.

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana also written as Swadisthana) is located between the pelvis and the naval it is associated with organs of reproduction, desire, emotions and food intake. 

Yoga postures that engage the lower abdominals or compress or rotate them will stimulate and balance this chakra, such as apanasana (the wind release).

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) is located between the naval and the base of the sternum.  It is associated with the stomach, gall bladder, spleen, pancreas, liver, perception and self-confidence.

Santolanasana (the plank), pashchimotanasana (seated forward bend), dhanurasana (the bow) can be used to help balance this chakra.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata) is located in the centre of the chest it is associated with the heart, lungs, matters of the heart and relationships.

Ardha matsyendrasana (half twist), purvothanasana (the inclined plane), matsyanasana (the fish) can be used to balance this chakra.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) is located in the throat it is associated with the throat, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid, expression and creativity.

Halasana (the plough), sarvangasana (shoulder stand) can be used to help balance this posture.

The Brow Chakra (Ajna) or the third eye is located just above the centre of the eyebrows it is associated with the head, endocrine system, extra sensory perception (ESP) and the astral world.

Direction of focus towards Ajna or the eyebrow centre will help to balance and stimulate this chakra. 

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) is located on and above the top of the head it is associated with the pineal gland, brain, nervous system and pure consciousness.

Sirsasana (the headstand) and meditating will help to balance and stimulate this chakra.

This blog article was written by Sue Fuller creator of the Yoga 2 Hear range of audio yoga classes and teacher training courses.

Also in Yoga Exploring Further

Lady practicing the yoga posture gomukhasana
What is Hatha Yoga?

November 19, 2021

Read More

meditating during sunrise or sunset
Yoga from the Heart

September 22, 2021

Read More

two martial artists with swords
Yoga, Ahimsa and Martial Arts

July 27, 2021

Read More