Image of the crown or sahasrara chakra symbol

The Crown Chakra - Sahasrara Chakra

August 08, 2019

The Crown Chakra - Sahasrara Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra is the seventh chakra and the gateway to the higher states of consciousness; this chakra can bring inner peace, harmony and knowledge.

This chakra is the hardest to describe. It is this chakra that connects us to the higher more spiritual or cosmic realms. Some teachings use terms such as God and Heaven others may talk of Brahman (the creator), for most we will agree that its energy is that of a higher more powerful force. Sahasrara also connects us to our own personal higher states of consciousness and awareness,.  

Sahasrara Chakra is located at the top of the head. Some teachings describe it as above the human body and others say it is within. Energetically when you think about or meditate on this chakra you might find that some days Sahasrara resonates above your head and other times just under your skull. This will be different for everyone.

Although the colour violet represents this chakra it is also represented by the colour white. 

In many ancient yoga texts and teachings it is said that when this chakra opens a state of enlightenment is obtained and the individual soul is no longer bound to Samsara (the cycle of endless births and rebirths).

It is through Sahasrara that the life force from the universe is dispersed to the other chakras beneath it. 

The mythological image of this chakra is a lotus with a thousand multi coloured petals. The lotus flower blooms through the murkiest of water; this is symbolic to the self and our capabilities. 

Energetically, the seventh chakra has a connection with the first chakra, as they are both at opposite ends of the chakra system. Muladhara the root chakra connects us to the earth and Sahasrara connects us to the higher cosmic realms.

In short …..

Sahasrara Chakra is the seventh chakra.

Sahasrara provides a gateway to a higher consciousness.

The colour of this chakra is violet and white.

It is associated with the transcendence of limitations.

It has the Mantra of AUM (the same as Ajna).

The organs and parts of the body associated with this chakra are: - head, brain, the nervous system, pituitary gland, the pineal and the hypothalamus (the hypothalamus and pituitary gland work together to regulate the endocrine system).

Physical dysfunctions associated with this chakra are: - diseases of the muscular system, diseases of the nervous system and chronic exhaustion not caused from physical exertion.

Psychological and emotional issues associated with this chakra are: - depression, loss of purpose, loss of identity and sensitivity to different environments and sensitivity to light and sound.

Yoga Postures to balance this chakra are: - Sirsasana (head stand), Shashankasana (hare), Vipariti Karani (fountain of youth or legs up the wall pose), Kapalabhati (cleansing breath) and meditation.

This blog article was written by Sue Fuller creator of the Yoga 2 Hear range of audio yoga classes and yoga teacher training courses.

Also in Yoga Exploring Further

lady performing the yoga posture, asana, virabhdrasana 1, warrior one pose
Asana Explored

May 03, 2022

Read More

Lotus pose, padmasana
Exploring Mula Bandha

March 16, 2022

Read More

Lady practicing the yoga posture gomukhasana
What is Hatha Yoga?

November 19, 2021

Read More