Image of the Anahata Chakra symbol

The Heart Chakra - Anahata Chakra

July 18, 2019

The Heart Chakra - Anahata Chakra

Anahata Chakra contains boundless energy, allowing us to give and receive unconditional love and compassion.

Anahata is also known as the fourth Chakra or heart chakra, the energy contained here is boundless, infinite and powerful and not to be underestimated.

Anahata translates from Sanskrit to mean “unstruck” or “unhurt”, meaning that beneath any personal suffering and heartbreak, resides unconditional love and compassion.

Anahata Chakra is located in the centre of the chest.  

Anahata is green in colour however some spiritual teachers say that it is the colour of the sky.

Anahata is the centre of emotions and feelings.

The energy that resides at the heart chakra allows us to discover our true self and enjoy peace and harmony in all that we do.

This chakra's element is air. Air represents freedom and expansion. Air is light it spreads and energizes. Air like water takes the shape of whatever it fills, but air is not so influenced by gravity. To remain grounded it is important to keep the first chakra - muladhara well rooted when working on developing and balancing the heart chakra.

In the symbolic picture of Anahata Chakra there is a Lotus with twelve petals. These represent the divine qualities of the heart, such as bliss, peace, harmony, love, understanding, empathy, clarity, purity, unity, compassion, kindness and forgiveness. It also has the image of a star created by two connecting triangles.  The tip of one triangle points up and the other points down. This star represents the union of Shiva and Shakti. In Vedanta it is believed that when Shiva and Shakti unite action, movement and creation can take place.

Anahata is the middle chakra. It is at this point where the energies of the lower three chakras and the upper three chakras integrate. The lower three chakras are associated with fundamental needs and emotions. The energy beneath the heart chakra is denser in nature whereas the energy of the upper three chakras is lighter and corresponds to our higher mental spiritual aspirations and faculties.

Anahata is a very powerful chakra its potential is endless.

In Short

Anahata Chakra is the fourth chakra.

Anahata translates to mean unstruck or unhurt.

The element of this chakra is air.

Anahata Chakra is the seat of the Divine Self (Atma).

The colour of this chakra is grey/green.

It is associated with matters of the heart.

It has the Mantra of YAM.

The organs and parts of the body associated with this chakra are: - the lungs, the heart, the thymus gland, the lymphatic system, the arms and the hands.

Physical dysfunctions associated with this chakra are: - shallow breathing, asthma, and other lung diseases, high blood pressure and heart disease.

Psychological and emotional issues associated with this Chakra are: - co-dependency, possessiveness, jealousy, sadness, shyness, loneliness, an inability to forgive, or a lack of empathy and emotional confusion.

When this chakra is well balanced it is possible to experience genuine well-balanced feelings of love and compassion towards all beings.

Yoga Asanas to help balance Anahata

Chest opening postures such as back bends or just sitting with shoulders back and maintaining an open chest, purvottanasana (inclined plane)and pranayamas.

This blog article was written by Sue Fuller creator of the Yoga 2 Hear range of audio yoga classes and teacher training courses.

Also in Yoga Exploring Further

Lady practicing the yoga posture gomukhasana
What is Hatha Yoga?

November 19, 2021

Read More

meditating during sunrise or sunset
Yoga from the Heart

September 22, 2021

Read More

two martial artists with swords
Yoga, Ahimsa and Martial Arts

July 27, 2021

Read More