Image of the third eye or ajna chakra symbol

The Sixth Chakra - Ajna Chakra

August 01, 2019

The Sixth Chakra - Ajna Chakra

Ajna - the third eye or the eyebrow centre is invisible yet extremely powerful.  When balanced we can experience clarity and wisdom.

Ajna is situated between the eyebrows it is often referred to as the third eye or the eyebrow centre. This chakra brings us great wisdom and clarity. Ajna helps us to make the right decisions. It brings a sense of intuition and inner knowing. 

It is here at Ajna Chakra that the sixth sense is predominant; this Chakra is the bridge between ourselves and the divine consciousness. It helps us discriminate between right and wrong decisions, what is true and untrue or real and unreal. It allows us to trust our intuition and receive messages from a higher source.

The mythological symbol for this chakra is a lotus with only two petals. These petals represent GU (darkness or ignorance) and RU (light or knowledge). These two syllables form the word GURU (Master) or leader from darkness into lightness from ignorance to knowledge. The petals also bear the mantras HAM and KSHAM which represent the Sun and the Moon, the masculine and the feminine and other sets of opposites, similar to the Yang and Yin symbol.

The mantra of this Chakra is AUM and it is represented by the colour indigo.

It is a spiritual chakra, which means “beyond wisdom,” Ajna leads us to an inner knowledge.

An open sixth chakra can enable clairvoyance, telepathy, lucid dreaming, expanded imagination, and knowledge. It is like a muscle the more we work on this area the stronger Ajna becomes. It is important to remain well-grounded.  With the wrong energy we could be totally mislead and misinterpret information that we receive through the third eye. 

All chakras need to be worked on equally after a strong connection and foundation is developed through Muladhara the root chakra.

In short …..

Ajna Chakra is the sixfth chakra, it also known as the third eye.

Ajna represents intuition and correct knowledge.

The colour of this chakra is Indigo.

It is associated with knowledge and perception.

It has the Mantra of AUM.

The organs and parts of the body associated with this chakra are: - brain, neurological system, eyes, ears, nose, pituitary, pineal glands

Physical dysfunctions associated with this chakra are:- head aches, strokes, blindness, deafness, seizures, spinal dysfunctions, panic and depression.

Psychological and Emotional Issues associated with this Chakra are: - fear of truth, discipline, poor judgement, a lack of emotional intelligence, poor concept of reality and emotional confusion.

Yoga Postures to balance this chakra are: - Brahmari Pranayama, Meditation, Balasana (pose of the child), chanting and other postures or techniques that involve creating a meditative space.

Also in Yoga Exploring Further

two martial artists with swords
Yoga, Ahimsa and Martial Arts

July 27, 2021

Read More

Lady meditating at sunset
Samskara and Sankalpa

July 07, 2021

Read More

Lotus flower on blue background
The Yamas & Niyamas

December 09, 2020

Read More