Chakra Meditations by Sue FullerThe Seventh Chakra - Sahasrara Chakra by Sue Fuller

Sahasrara Chakra is the gateway to the higher states of consciousness; this chakra can bring inner peace, harmony and knowledge.

This chakra is the hardest to describe.  This is because it is this chakra that connects us to higher more spiritual or cosmic realms.  Some will use terms such as God and Heaven others may talk of Brahman (the creator), for this article I will refer to this force as a higher spiritual or cosmic energy.  Sahasrara also connects us to our higher states of consciousness and awareness.  

Sahasrara Chakra is located at the top of the head, which is also why it is often referred to as the crown chakra.   Some teachings describe it as above the human body and others say it is within.   This chakra is the highest chakra it is the centre for a deep connection with ourselves and an even deeper connection with the higher spiritual or cosmic energy.

Although the colour violet represents this chakra it is also represented by the colour white. 

In many ancient yoga texts and teachings it is said that when this chakra opens a state of enlightenment is obtained.  When this chakra is opened then the individual soul is no longer bound to Samsara (the cycle of endless births and rebirths).

It is through Sahasrara that the life force from the universe is dispersed to the other chakras beneath it. 

The mythological image of this chakra is a lotus with a thousand multi coloured petals.  The lotus flower blooms through the murkiest of water; this is symbolic to the self and our capabilities. 

Energetically, the seventh chakra has a connection with the first chakra, as they are both at opposite ends of the chakra system.  Muladhara the root chakra connects us to the earth and Sahasrara connects us to the higher cosmic realms.

Sahasrara Chakra - The Crown ChakraIn short …..

Sahasrara Chakra is the seventh chakra.

Sahasrara provides a gateway to a higher consciousness.

The colour of this chakra is Violet and White.

It is associated with the transcendence of our limitations.

It has the Mantra of AUM (the same as Ajna).

The organs and parts of the body associated with this chakra are: - Head, brain, the nervous system, pituitary gland, the pineal and the hypothalamus (the hypothalamus and pituitary gland work together to regulate the endocrine system).

Physical dysfunctions associated with this chakra are: - diseases of the muscular system, diseases of the nervous system and chronic exhaustion not caused from physical exertion.

Psychological and Emotional Issues associated with this Chakra are: - depression, loss of purpose, loss of identity and sensitivity to different environments and sensitivity to light and sound.

Chakra Yoga by Sue FullerYoga Postures to balance this chakra are: - Sirsasana (head stand), Shashankasana (hare), Vipariti Karani (fountain of youth or legs up the wall pose), Kapalabhati (cleansing breath) and meditation.

Chakra Meditations, Chakra Yoga Volume 1 and Volume 2 have been devised by Sue Fuller to help balance your chakras. 

Sue Fuller is the creator of the Yoga 2 Hear range of audio yoga classes.  She is a course author for the British School of Yoga and a regular columnist for the Yoga Magazine and Natural Health.