Chakra ImageBalance your Chakras through Meditation by Sue Fuller

Chakras massively influence our moods, health and vitality. When the chakras are out of balance, the effects can be experienced in all areas of our lives.

Prana is our vital life force it moves around the body in different energy channels known as nadis and flows in many different directions.  The prana greatly influences all areas of health and wellbeing.  In some areas of the body the prana becomes denser these areas are known as chakras.

There are chakras positioned all over the body, the seven major ones are located between the base of the spine and the crown of the head.  Each one influences and balances different emotions, conditions, behaviours, senses, organs and body parts.  They are different in colour, frequency and size.  When one of these chakras becomes unbalanced it can affect our entire wellbeing.

By bringing your attention to the different chakras and their qualities during meditation you can help balance the chakras. 

As the first chakra provides support for all of the chakras that are positioned above it is important to balance this chakra first and experience a sense of grounding and support from Muladhara, before moving on to the other chakras.

Meditation is different for everyone, during meditation we are aiming to still the mind and prevent the internal chatter so that we can experience the present moment in time.  Focussing on different objects, sensations and the breath can help you experience a state of meditation.  Using the chakras to anchor the mind is perfect as you are internalising your focus and giving your mind a task.  The mind loves to be busy and by giving it something to focus on you can prevent some of the internal dialogue and thoughts allowing you to experience the present moment.

The First Chakra

Muladhara Chakra (root chakra)

Muladhara or the root chakra is located at the base of the spine.  This chakra is the most important chakra as it provides support for the six chakras that are aligned above it.  This chakra will keep us grounded and well balanced.

It is a rich red colour and its corresponding element is earth.  Muladhara connects us to the earth. When balanced it reminds us that we are protectors of the earth not destroyers.  

It is associated with the large intestine, the excretory organs, adrenal glands and our survival instinct.

The Second Chakra

Svadhishthana Chakra (the sacral chakra)

The Svadhishthana Chakra is located just below the navel.  It is orange in colour and its corresponding element is water.  This chakra governs the emotional and sensual aspects of our lives.  When this chakra is unbalanced it is greatly reflected in our emotional behaviour

The element of this chakra (water) is a constant reminder that we all experience movement and emotional changes.  Water moves freely, when it is out of control it is extremely powerful.

It is associated the lymphatic system, kidneys, bladder, sexual organs, taste, vitality, creativity and compulsiveness.

The Third Chakra  

Manipura Chakra (the solar plexus chakra).

Manipura chakra – literally translates to mean “The City of Jewels”.  When Manipura is balanced it will bring riches such as clarity, wisdom, bliss, self-confidence, self- assurance and the ability to make the correct decisions.

Manipura gives us our “get up and go”.  It is yellow in colour and its corresponding element is fire.  This fire is regarded as having the ability to burn away negativity making way for positive change.

It is associated with the stomach, liver, nervous system, gallbladder, small intestine, spleen, pancreas, sight and emotions such as jealousy and self- pity.

The fourth Chakra

Anahata Chakra (the heart chakra)

Anahata translates from Sanskrit to mean “unstruck” or “unhurt”, meaning that beneath any personal suffering and heartbreak resides unconditional love and compassion.  Anahata is not to be underestimated the energy contained here is boundless, infinite and powerful.

Anahata Chakra is located in the centre of the chest, it is coloured green and its corresponding element is air.  When this chakra is balanced we enjoy a sense of peace and harmony.

It is associated with the heart, circulation, blood pressure, lungs, ribs, upper back and emotions such as love, empathy, compassion and humanity

The Fifth Chakra

Vishuddha Chakra (the throat chakra)

Visha means impurity or poison and Shuddhi means purification.  This Chakra is therefore the centre of physical and spiritual purification.

It is sky blue in colour and largely influences our creativity, confidence and ability to express ourselves.

It is associated with the throat, neck, jaw, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid, expression and creativity. 

The Sixth Chakra

Ajna (the brow chakra).

This chakra is indigo in colour and also known as the third eye it is located just above the centre of the eyebrows. A healthy Brow Chakra will provide us with the ability to experience our true existence it allows us to see the “bigger picture” of life.

It is associated with the head, endocrine system, extra sensory perception (ESP) and the astral world. 

The Seventh Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra (the crown chakra)

This chakra is also known as the lotus with a thousand petals.

The Crown Chakra is viewed as a gateway to a higher state of awareness.

This chakra is located on and above the top of the head.  A healthy crown chakra will provide knowledge, wisdom and a spiritual connection.

It is associated with the pineal gland, brain, nervous system and pure consciousness.

Chakra Meditations by Sue FullerSue Fuller is as leading yoga teacher and writer.  She is a course author for the British School of Yoga.  Sue is the creator of the Yoga 2 Hear range or audio yoga classes.  These classes have been devised to help you practice yoga regularly at home.  Classes are available for beginner’s right through to advanced practitioners including two Chakra Yoga Classes and guided Chakra Meditations.  For more information please visit or .